I am in Workout Heaven

Workout today:
Bike – 22 miles

I woke up this morning still thinking about my run yesterday.  It was such a good workout!!  Not just because I was happy with the times I ran or because I got to spend time with some awesome friends (although those were both part of it) but because I felt so GOOD afterward.  I felt super high on endorphins the rest of the night and had that deep but light burning sensation in my legs that makes me remember I just put in a tough workout.  Does anyone know what I’m talking about or do I just sound like a crazy person?

Anyway, I knew I had a bike ride this morning so I had a good breakfast of an english muffin with laughing cow cheese (garlic and herb–my favorite!), cottage cheese with strawberries (there’s cottage cheese under there somewhere), and a banana with peanut butter.  Awesome and filling!

Next was my third workout date of the week!  I met up with my friend Jeanette from school for as awesome morning bike ride!  I may be going overboard with all the workouts this week but I can’t help it–this kind of weather is my idea of workout heaven.  I don’t do well when it gets really hot, but this 50-60 degree weather is perfect!  The weather combined with my flexible school schedule this week has led me to go into workout date scheduling overload, but so far I am loving it!!!

After spending 20 minutes trying to figure out what to wear to bike in 50 degree weather (it’s kind of warm, but the wind is still chilly?), I met Jeanette at the Roosevelt Island parking lot.  Someone once told me that for running you should dress to be comfortable in temperatures 20 degrees higher than what it is, and that little trick really works for me.  But when it comes to biking I am clueless.  I still get hot from the workout but the extra wind factor can make it chilly.  Does anyone have a trick for knowing how to dress for biking?

Anyway, back to today’s workout–the sun was out and it was already almost 60 degrees and I was so excited to get going!

I don’t know why my bike jersey decided to ride up and look like a baby-doll tee in this picture.  Hmm.  Also, I wish I had gotten someone to take a picture of both of us–next time I’ll have to tackle a another biker/runner and make them take one.

From there we headed north up to the Capital Crescent Trail and enjoyed the beautiful views of the Potomac river and the C&O canal.  We turned around in Bethesda, came back down, and were feeling good so decided to keep heading down the Mt. Vernon trail for a while.  We went down to the park overlooking Reagan and then came back, for a total of about 22 miles.

I loved every second of this ride.  Good company, awesome weather, and beautiful views.  What in the world am I going to do when I have to go back to working a 9-5 job?  I’ll just not think about that for now…

I didn’t get back until about 12:30 and was STARVING.  Lunch was the last of the soup (sad face) and the other half of my sammich from yesterday.  And some carmel rice cakes with peanut butter since I was starving a new a half a sandwich would not be enough.  Let me just say, a day without peanut butter or chocolate is not a day I want any part of.

I may have also had two somoas later in the afternoon:/.  Eric should not leave me with Girl Scout cookies in the house, I cannot stop myself from eating them.  I should probably tell him to hide them from me before he goes to work.

Dinner was a new recipe I decided to try to use some of the pork chops I bought last week because they were on sale.  It was orange pork chops with grilled pineapple and yogurt and marmalade sauce.  It was pretty good, actually!  I also made some roasted sweet potato, onion, and carrots with rosemary on the side.  De-lish.

Coincidentally, the rosemary I used for these veggies was given to me by Jeanette.  She and her husband brought me a little rosemary tree when they came over for brunch one day.  Cutest and most functional gift ever!

I’m surprised it’s lasted this long, because I use it all the time.

This post is getting really long, so I’ll close with dessert.  I felt adventurous at the grocery store last week and decided to go for a new ice cream flavor:  coffee caramel swirl.  It was actually ridiculously good.  Awesome–another dessert for me to become addicted to!

About Erin @ untilyoutri

Runner, triathlete, food lover, and happy blogger!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I am in Workout Heaven

  1. Patty says:

    Have you ever thought about changing your career to becoming a professional food photographer?

Thank you for leaving me some comment love. Your comments make me a super-happy blogger:).

