Mmm, Pizza

Workout today:
Bike – about 17 miles

Well, the inevitable has happened.  After skipping my day off and working out pretty hard all this week, I hit a bit of workout frustration today.

But first, let me start with breakfast:

After breakfast Eric and I braved the chilly morning weather to try out his new bike on a ride with two of our friends (workout date number SIX for the week–I can’t believe it!).  We did a variation of a loop we’ve done a couple of times that hits the Mt. Vernon, Four Mile Run, and Custus Lee trails.  The first 20 minutes my legs felt pretty yucky, but they eventually warmed up okay and started to feel better better.

Goofy picture alert:)

The problem was, I was not sure how long the loop was (until I got home and could map it), and I still have not figured out how to get my new cyclometer I got for Christmas working properly (I should just get the professionals to install it):/.  So when we finished our loop, I thought about doing it a second time, but not being sure how long it was and it being Eric’s first ride in a while, we decided that wasn’t a great idea.

On my training plan today I was supposed to do a long brick workout (brick is tri ‘speak’ for bike and run…they call it that because your legs feel like bricks when trying to run immediately following the bike)–30 miles on the bike and a 20 minute run–so I was kind of frustrated with myself for not getting my full workout in.  I thought about getting a few more miles in when I got home, but it was lunch time and I was starving, and tired, and grumpy.  Plus I never know if the workout counts the same if you split it up.  I think the tiredness and grumpiness came from a long week of workouts.

As much as it sucks that I didn’t get my full workout in today, I have to stay focused on the fact that I had a really good (and fun!) week of workouts, including some fast splits in my speed workout on Wednesday.  I am feeling like I’m finally getting back in decent shape.  I am going to try not to get hung up on this one imperfect workout, and know that now I have a new bike buddy (ie, my husband), and we will plan to hit the correct mileage next weekend.

And, I’m going to enjoy my much-earned day off tomorrow:)

Today was grocery shopping day, so lunch was a bit of a hodgepodge.   Tomato/mozzarella/basil salad in balsamic vinegar, tortilla chip crumbs, pickle, and a buffalo chicken sandwich (they are Eric’s chicken tenders and I don’t really like them, but my options were limited today:/).

After lunch was GROCERY SHOPPING TIME!!!  I LOVE grocery shopping!!  I love getting to restock my fridge with fresh/awesome food.  I actually have to control myself and make sure I don’t buy more produce than I can eat in a week (as I have been known to do).  Is it weird that I love grocery shopping?  Eric says he doesn’t like it.  Granted, sometimes I have other stuff going on and it’s tough to squeeze in, but I have always liked it for some reason.  Nothing makes me happier than a full fridge and the excitement of new and exciting foods for the week!

Speaking of new foods, one of the things I wanted to try was a veggie pizza after seeing it on Hungry Runner Girl’s blog all the time:).

This was my first time making my own dough from scratch (although I have stood in the kitchen watching while other people do it before…but I don’t think that counts, especially since I kept asking Eric questions the whole time about whether I was doing it right).  Anyway, I was really happy with how the pizza turned out.  Yum!

And to go with the pizza, my favorite salad–lettuce (red leaf this time, but usually spinach), strawberries, almond slices, and a tiny bit of mozzarella.  The dressing is my own made up dressing (although I am sure I was not the first to do this).  I just mix orange juice with balsamic vinegar and a splash of olive oil.  Goes great with fruit-type salads!:)

Maaaahhh favvooorrrittteeee.  Mmmm….

Also, I took this while I was getting the pizza ready because I thought it was pretty (but I don’t think this picture does the colors justice).  I am in love with veggies!

Dessert was the last of the coffee carmel ice cream!

I hope everyone is off tomorrow and has some plans to enjoy their extra-long weekend!!

About Erin @ untilyoutri

Runner, triathlete, food lover, and happy blogger!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mmm, Pizza

  1. Patty says:

    Mmmmmm…Pizza is right!! Could eat it 24/7. Your veggie pizza looks good…

  2. Eric says:

    My butt hurts from biking.

Thank you for leaving me some comment love. Your comments make me a super-happy blogger:).

