Windy Running and a New Bike!

Workout today:
7 WINDY miles (that felt more like 15 miles at a 10-percent incline, lol)

Today was workout date number FIVE of the week!!  I met up with my lovely running superstar friends, Melle and Karen, for our long run of the week.  Unfortunately, it was not quite as enjoyable as the rest of my workouts this week.  As Karen said, our run today felt like we ran the whole seven miles like this:

Source

Okay, so I’ve never run with parachutes tied to my back, but I certainly felt like I had either parachutes or a large dinosaur tied to my back today.  The windy weather today was some of the most RIDICULOUS running conditions I think I have ever experienced!  Weather.com said gusts of up to 50 mph.  It didn’t help that we ran most of the run by the Potomac river, and therefore had little in the way of buildings to shield us.  The wind was so bad we were all leaning into it most of the run, and bumped into each other constantly.  We even spent a good two miles not talking, because we couldn’t hear each over the wind and didn’t have the energy to shout because we were so exhausted from fighting it!  Us not talking for more than 30 seconds is pretty much unheard of–so that should tell you just how bad this weather was!

My legs felt pretty horrible today, too.  I couldn’t tell if it was because of the wind, or my legs complaining about me skipping my day off yesterday.  Probably both:/.  I was supposed to go for a bike ride today, too, but we cancelled it because we figured we probably wouldn’t survive on the bikes in this crazy weather.  We are planning to ride tomorrow, instead.  So I will DEFINITELY be taking Monday off!

Breakfast today was a quick english muffin with peanut butter on my way out the door to run.  Lunch was a turkey and red pepper sandwich and some Campbell’s Select Harvest Italian Wedding soup.  I am now obsessed with Campbell’s Select Harvest soups–have you tried them?  They’re pretty low in calories but taste great and are actually filling (as opposed to some low calorie soups that are low calorie because they have nothing in them), plus they’re supposedly made with all natural ingredients.

After lunch we went BIKE SHOPPING!  Not for me, unfortunately, even though I’ve been drooling over new tri bikes.  Eric has been going back and forth about getting a new bike, and finally decided that he wanted one.  I am still having heart palpitations over spending so much money (road bikes aren’t cheap!), but we got a really good deal on a 2010 closeout and I’m excited to have a new bike partner!  I told him that since the bike cost so much money he would have to ride with me a LOT to get our money’s worth;).

He’s trying to do the man thing and not smile in the picture, but he’s excited, trust me:).  Now that we have two bikes again and our cheap Walmart bike rack can barely hold the weight of one bike, let alone two, we also purchased a new bike rack.  I’m excited to try it out on our ride tomorrow!

Dinner was leftover spaghetti and meatballs with broccoli (not so exciting), and dessert was some coffee carmel ice cream!

Can you guess which is my bowl and which is Eric’s??:)  (I realize my love of sweets might be misleading, but remember–Eric is the ice cream person!:).

Now going to watch a movie with Eric!  I hope everyone is having a great weekend!!

About Erin @ untilyoutri

Runner, triathlete, food lover, and happy blogger!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Windy Running and a New Bike!

  1. Patty says:

    You guys are real die hard trainers!! Yesterday was so windy, I did not even leave the house, let alone go running along a river! Have you guys tried taking fish oil supplements? What about multi vitamins? I see you are eating your veggies. Also, make sure you drink plenty of water…keep hydrated. Okay, enough ranting on my part. Love Eric’s new bike. I am sure you have many beautiful places to ride around your place. We have some rails to trails around here that are nice. Eric gets the ice cream thing from me & I got it from my dad. So, he can’t help it…it is hereditary. Keep up all the hard work. Talk to ya soon…..

    • Hey Patty! We do take fish oil and multivitamin supplements, actually:) Eric also takes lysine and sometimes some extra vitamin C if he feels a cold coming on:). And I do try to drink a lot of water. Some days I’m better than others, but I do pretty well. I had to learn that one the hard way though, I used to hate water…but now it’s all I drink!

Thank you for leaving me some comment love. Your comments make me a super-happy blogger:).

