Learning How to Swim, Again

Tuesday Workout:
Cross train – 60 minutes cardio (20 mins treadmill, 20 mins elliptical, 20 mins bike)
Swim –  1400 meters (100, 200, 400, 400, 200, 100; working on bilateral breathing)

As I mentioned before, I have been trying to work on becoming a bilateral breather (breathing on both sides when I swim, instead of just one).  When I first started swimming “for real” a couple of years ago I was a mess.  Please keep in mind, I have never been a real swimmer.  As I kid I could always swim (as in, play sharks and minnows, not drown, etc.), but I never really took lessons and had never done lap swimming or worked on any kind of stroke/form/etc.  When I started to take lessons with Team in Training a couple of years ago I could barely swim two lengths of the pool without being out of breath at the end or sucking in water.  I pretty much almost drowned 500 times a practice.

I don’t like when blogs are all writing and no pictures, so I decided to throw in a random picture here.  This is the closest I have to a swimming picture.  Well, that’s not quite true–I have some of me coming out of the water after completing my swim, but if you saw those you would be so scared you might never come back to my blog.  But you can still laugh at this one, too.  This is Eric and my sister, Jillian, trying to help me get my wetsuit on before Nation’s.  I was running late and it had been raining all morning, so my skin was wet.  If you’ve never had to put a wetsuit on when your skin is already wet before, let me tell you–this was a workout all on its own.

Anyway, back to me learning to swim.  After about a month of weekly practices (and a few swims on my own), I finally started to feel like I could swim for a good 15-20 minutes straight without drowning.  Granted, I was still really slow, but at this point all I cared about was completing the upcoming triathlon without dying.

Now that I am trying to work on breathing on the left side, too, I feel like I am learning to swim all over again.  My breathing is completely thrown into a different rhythm, so I still feel out of breath after only a couple of laps.  I am not used to breathing on the left, so my form is off, and every once in a while I take in some water…just like old times:(.  It’s almost more frustrating this time, because I know I could just revert back to breathing on the right and be fine.  BUT, I know in the long run this will pay off.  It should make me faster and better able to sight in open water swims.  It just really sucks having to relearn something!!

Have you guys ever had to relearn anything?  I can think of a couple of times in my life when I had to relearn something a different way than I was used to doing it–bowling and typing, haha.  I used to bowl…wrong.  I would swing the bowling ball forward with the back of my hand facing forward (and the palm facing me), so that the bowling ball was released with a backwards spin.  It still made it down the lane (somehow!), and I was a somewhat decent bowler, but my dad convinced me that I had to learn to do it the “right” way.

I also used to be a “peck” typer (I would just peck at the keys with my two pointer fingers).  Hey, my generation was some of the first to start using computers, okay!  Don’t judge:).  Again, my dad made me learn how to type the “real” way (it’s like my dad wanted me to be a normal person or something?).  Thank goodness he did…can you imagine me trying to type grad papers or even work typing with just two fingers (although half of the doctors in my doctor’s office do it!)!  So I know all of these relearning experiences paid off in the end, but boy are they frustrating when you’re in the middle of it!

Sorry that was a lot of writing with no pictures.  I’ll try to avoid that in the future! Breakfast today was an english muffin with laughing cow cheese, some 2 percent cottage cheese, and an apple.

Lunch was taco soup, a chicken salad sandwich, and an apple.  Soooo good.  I might become addicted to this taco soup!

After lunch I had a kiwi (to try and satisfy my sweet cravings with fruit instead of chocolate–it worked!).

After my workout this afternoon I had a snack attack (SNACK ATTACK!!).  Why does swimming always make me hungry??  My snack started out as a string cheese and a few almonds, but then I had a bowl of cereal, too:/.  Because of my late afternoon snack meal, I wasn’t that hungry for dinner, so just had a half a “baked” (microwaved) sweet potato and some broccoli.  (Eric had the same thing but with some roasted chicken).

For some reason I used to hate sweet potatoes as a kid, but now I am in love with them. Baked, fried, microwaved…however you want to cook a sweet potato, I will eat it and love it!  My favorite way to eat them is as baked french fries.  Check out my recipe page for a great sweet potato fry recipe!

By the way, I have recently updated my recipe page with some pictures and new recipes.  I added a stuffed shells recipe that is TO DIE FOR!  I bought the stuff to make them during my last grocery trip, so get ready for some pictures later this week!!  Are you excited??

About Erin @ untilyoutri

Runner, triathlete, food lover, and happy blogger!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Learning How to Swim, Again

  1. Eric says:

    “There are no limits. There are plateaus, and you must not stay there; you must go beyond them.” – Bruce Lee

  2. Patty says:

    It takes a lot of courage to learn something new. “The higher your energy level, the more efficient your body. The more efficient your body, the better you feel and the more you will use your talent to produce outstanding results.”
    -Anthony Robbins

Thank you for leaving me some comment love. Your comments make me a super-happy blogger:).

