I Am Not a Blob!

I can’t tell you how much I appreciated everyone’s wonderful comments on my last post. One of the things I did not expect when I started this blog was to find such a great group of people who are supportive and always understand what I’m going through. You guys are the best!

I think finally posting about my injury was a sign that I am finally ready to start trying to figure out what I can do and stop focusing on what I can’t do.

Between taking some time off after the half ironman and my foot injury, I have done very little working out the past few weeks. For someone who has just come off of working out five to six days a week for hours at a time, that is a bit of a shock to my system. At first the break was welcomed, but lately I’ve been feeling more and more…blob-like.

I may have had a bit of a pity party on Friday, but Saturday was a breakthrough for me. First, I was able to get out in the gorgeous 70-degree and sunny weather Saturday morning for a bike ride with a few of my blogger friends–Lauren, Amy, and Chloe.

We met in Georgetown and biked a few miles through the streets of DC before heading up in to Potomac, MD.

It was a perfect day for a ride and we had so much fun chatting. Lauren is tapering for her FIRST HALF IRONMAN next weekend, and Chloe had a HALF MARATHON the next morning, so we all enjoyed the nice relaxing ride.

These ladies are awesome, and I had so much fun riding with them:).

At some point in a conversation I was having with the girls about swimming, it occurred to me that I could solve my not being able to swim problem (because it pulls on my sprained foot when I try and kick) if I bought a pull buoy!

After our ride I headed straight over to City Sports in Georgetown. The store greeter gave me a blank stare when I asked him if they sold pull buoys, so instead I just asked him where the swim section was. In the swim section I found my new best friend:

For those of you who don’t know what a pull buoy is (which was me a few months ago;)–you put it between your legs when you swim and it makes you float and not have to kick, so you can focus on your stroke instead. Or, if you’re like me, not have to kick so you can not re-sprain your foot:). New. Best. Friend.

So on Saturday afternoon I did a short 20 minute swim with my sister. It felt pretty horrible (it’s amazing how quickly all your hard conditioning goes away with a few weeks off), but I was just happy to be working out!

I may have gotten a little carried away with my Saturday endorphin kick, because when my sister asked if I wanted to do a Spartacus workout, I of course said yes!! I did have to modify the workout a bit, though, to avoid jumping around on my bad foot. Here is what I did:

Spartacus
1. Goblet squats
2. Mountain climber Sit-ups
3. Straight-arm dumbbell swings
4. T-push up Triceps dips
5. Lunge jumps  Wall sits
6. Forward-leaning dumbbell rows
7. Dumbbell side lunge and touch More sit-ups
8. Push-up position row Overhead triceps presses
9. Dumbbell lunge/rotation Obliques
10. Overhead dumbbell presses (palms facing each other)

It felt great to get some weight lifting in.

Endorphin addict much?

(We didn’t have a conversation about whether to look at the camera or not:)

We celebrated all of our working out with some buffalo chicken sandwiches. Yum! It’s a recipe I saw in my brother’s Men’s Health magazine and had to try. Greek yogurt and blue cheese as the topping? Yes please! With sweet potato fries and green beans on the side? Sure!

(Please excuse the iPhone picture)

Buffalo Chicken Sandwich
(Recipe from Men’s Health)

Ingredients:
1/4 cup crumbled blue cheese
1/2 cup Greek yogurt
1 1/2 tablespoons lemon juice (or one lemon)
Salt and pepper to taste
4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (4 to 6 oz each)
1/2 tablespoons chili powder
1 red onion, sliced
2 tablespoons melted butter
2 tablespoons hot sauce
4 romaine lettuce leaves
4 rolls, toasted

Directions:
1. Preheat a nonstick grill or grill pan. As it’s heating, combine the blue cheese, yogurt, and lemon juice, plus a pinch of salt and pepper. Stir and set aside.

2. Season the chicken breasts with salt, pepper, and chili powder. Add the breasts to the hot grill and cook for 5 to 6 minutes on one side before flipping them.

3. Add the onion to the grill’s perimeter. (If you’re using a grill pan, you’ll need to wait to remove the chicken before grilling the onions.) Cook the chicken until firm and springy to the touch, 4 to 5 minutes more. Remove it to a plate, along with the grilled onions.

4. Combine the butter and hot sauce and brush the mixture all over the chicken. Place a leaf of romaine on the base of each bun. Top with a chicken breast and spoon on some blue-cheese sauce. Add grilled onions and the top half of the bun. Makes 4 servings
———————————–

What is your favorite strength workout/routine?

Do you have any good swim drills I can do with my new best friend Mr. Pull Buoy?

About Erin @ untilyoutri

Runner, triathlete, food lover, and happy blogger!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to I Am Not a Blob!

  1. Yay Pull Buoys! I had such a blast on Saturday too and turns out it was the perfect pre 1/2 marathon ride 🙂

  2. I have never heard of pull buoys, but that is so cool that there is something out there that does that! I hope your ankle feels better soon 😦

  3. Stephanie says:

    So happy to hear you are out and about!!! 🙂 🙂

  4. Priyanka says:

    I love the picture, your sister is smiling for the camera and you are focused 🙂

  5. Ummm…I definitely didn’t think you were being a blob. Glad you found a buoy – BUT – caution (Danger, Will Robinson, Danger!) – over-using it can create long term shoulder issues, so be on the lookout for that.

    • Haha, well I know I deserve some rest but I was more just feeling like a blob. Just not used to sitting around a lot! Hmm, well that’s scary about the buoy! What do you think is considered over use? Haha. How is it different for your shoulders than regular swimming? (Total swimmer newbie here, sorry for all the questions:).

      • Well, since you aren’t kicking, you wind up with more pressure on your shoulders since your arms are the only thing moving you forward. There’s no specific distance that is “too much,” but if you feel an aching just under your shoulder blade that gets sharper and sharper…time to cut the workout short and get the Advil and ice.

  6. Heather says:

    So sorry to hear about your injuries – past few years I had experienced some derailments with feet and leg issues. It really sucks but I try to find other activities…I find it is great to work on some strength training – aqua jogging and pull buoys are great! Take the pop to work on bike skills too! Good luck!!! It’s tough but twitter and blogging helps when there is a huge support system out there 🙂

    • It has been a huge support system, thank you! I am sorry to hear about your injury troubles:(. You’re right that I need to look at it as an opportunity to try and work on some of my weaker areas. I am just being a baby and missing my one true love–running!:)

  7. amy says:

    So happy to read this post! I’ve had my share of injuries and there are so many things you can do to fill the void, while keeping your fitness. I’m up for pool-running, swimming with a pull-buoy or biking any day!

  8. mmmmm love that lunch. That chicken sandwich looks so good, and sweet potato fries can never be wrong!

  9. Sweet potato fries are my FAVORITE. Period.:) So good. And I loved the blue cheese topping with greek yogurt. Yum!

  10. Chuck says:

    Yum! The food looks great! Speaking of pool toys, do you ever use hand paddles? I have some, but have only used them once… I need to get better at real swimming first haha. I feel like I should be good though- I guess I need a coach.

    I love functional weight training. Things like TRX, monkey bars, ropes to climb and tires to flip or hit with sledge hammers!

    • Hmm, no, I haven’t tried hand paddles! But I am still a total newbie when it comes to swimming stuff. I need a coach, too! Chloe from 321delish offered to work with me some, and I think I am going to take her up on that:). I really am a pretty terrible swimmer:).

      Functional weight training is awesome! I have done the TRX some and love it. Haha, where do you hit/flip tires? I always see them do that on the biggest loser and it looks fun but I always wonder what kind of gyms would have that stuff. Not any of the ones I’ve ever been to:).

  11. lindsay says:

    go spartan ladies!! and I am addicted to the pool buoy!

  12. Awww MAN! I just read your When Life Gives You Lemons Post (catching up) – bummer. Been there (I had a stress fracture last year). Never good news, but what can you do? You deserved to have your pity party – but good for you for switching up your perspective so quickly! That’s great you have biking and swim drills to keep you active!! I’m sorry, I’ve actually never done swim drills so can’t really recommend anything, but I’m definitely interested to hearing how the recovery goes.
    Buffalo Chix Sandwich looks amazing. It’s now on the menu for this week – Thanks!
    Stay positive!

    • Aw, I’m sorry to hear about your stress fracture!:( I was feeling better on Saturday/Sunday but today I went back into having another pity party after reading about everyone’s races this weekend, haha. Oh well. Speaking of races, I can’t wait to hear how yours went!:)

  13. Samantha says:

    Yayy for endorphins! You are SO NOT a blob. That spartacus thing sounds crazy. I just did my first body pump class today and I thought my arms were going to fall off.

  14. Lauren says:

    I know I’m late in saying this, but I’m so sorry about your foot! I know how tough injuries are to deal with, and I’m sure it’s especially hard because, like you said, your body is used to working out a lot…and now you’re forced to take a break. I’m happy you are starting to find some cross training activities that work for you. I didn’t know what a pull buoy was when you first mentioned it, but after you described it I realize I’ve seen those in the pool. Glad you’ll be able to swim again!! And I’ll be sending you lots of good thoughts for a speedy recovery!

  15. Pingback: Running Envy and (Early) WIAW | You Don't Know Until You Tri!

  16. Stephanie says:

    I ❤ Erin 🙂 🙂 🙂

  17. Hehe, thanks, Steph! I ❤ you too!:)

Thank you for leaving me some comment love. Your comments make me a super-happy blogger:).

