Running Envy and (Early) WIAW

Well, I may be feeling slightly better about being injured now that I am able to swim and do some weight training, but I still have a pretty bad case of running envy.

Yesterday on my way home I drove past a girl jogging along with her headphones on, enjoying the nice weather…and I may have glared at her a little bit as I drove by. Yes, I was jealous of someone I don’t even know jogging along the side of the road.

And then there was everyone that raced last weekend. So many of my friends kicked booty in their races this weekend! One of my friends just ran a marathon PR and qualified for Boston (amazing!), and Chloe (321Delish) PRed in the half marathon and finished 15th overall and third in her age group. Wow!

Lauren (Health on the Run) and Corey (Runner’s Cookie) also kicked booty in their 5k this weekend, placing first and third in their age group! How awesome are all of these ladies? I am so impressed with all of them!

But, I am not going to lie, everyone’s awesome performances are making me chomp at the bit to get back out there and get some PRs of my own! Don’t worry, I know I have to be patient (my foot won’t let me do otherwise right now), but I definitely have a bad case of race itch!

Anyway, for now I will continue to focus on what I can do and what I can eat! And just in time (okay maybe a few hours early) for WIAW! 🙂 Here are some of my favorite meals from this week.

Speaking of Corey, she inspired one of my favorite breakfasts this week.

Chocolate protein bake (made with chocolate protein powder, whole wheat flower, and chia seeds!) topped with peanut butter and banana. Get the recipe from Runner’s Cookie, here.

My favorite lunch this week was a delicious salad with spinach, grape tomatoes, almonds, feta cheese, tuna salad, chia seeds, and balsamic vinaigrette. Sooooo good.

My new favorite afternoon snack was whole wheat toast with peanut butter, bananas, and cinnamon (this was my first time trying it with cinnamon. I was inspired by Kate, and boy was it a good decision!).

A favorite dinner was pear and goat cheese pizza (you better believe I ate two more pieces of that deliciousness) and asparagus with grape tomatoes, feta cheese, and balsamic vinegar. Seriously, you HAVE to make this pizza. It is so good you may not be able to eat regular pizza ever again. Both of these recipes are from Emily (Speed Laces, Amazing Races).

Either I am going for the blog shout out record today or I am just addicted to my blogger friends’ recipes:). Hmm…

My favorite dessert/”thing I have been eating every two seconds” this week was actually my own recipe, which I healthified a bit from this recipe, and it turned out AMAZING.

Crackalicious Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

Ingredients:
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup stevia
1/4 cup butter, softened
1/4 cup unsweetened apple sauce
1 1/2 cups mashed banana (about three bananas)
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup whole wheat flour
2 large eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions:
Cream sugar, butter, and applesauce; beat in the mashed bananas, eggs, and vanilla. Combine dry ingredients and stir into the first mixture just until moistened Fold in chocolate chips until well incorporated. Pour batter into greased and floured 9x5x3-inch loaf pan. Cover loosely with a tent of aluminum foil. Bake at 325° for 30 minutes. Remove foil and continue baking for 30 to 40 minutes or until wooden toothpick inserted tests done. Cool for 10 minutes, remove from pan and cool banana bread completely before slicing.

This stuff is seriously amazing, and I’m pretty sure I ate 14/15ths of it myself. Oops.

Congrats again to everyone on their awesome races this weekend! And thanks to all my blogger buddies for always giving me new recipes to try:).
———————————–

Did you race last weekend? Do you have one this weekend? As much as I envy you people, I need to live vicariously through you!:)

Do you have a new recipe I should to try?

About Erin @ untilyoutri

Runner, triathlete, food lover, and happy blogger!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Running Envy and (Early) WIAW

  1. Cherie says:

    I have SERIOUS runner envy right now due to my shin injury, so I completely understand the glaring at the passing jogger girl! Hahaha, now I don’t feel so bad! 🙂 Delicious looking food—also glad you said you had more than one piece of the pizza because I was like, “C’mon, did she really only have ONE?!” LOL… 🙂

    • Aw, I’m so sorry to hear you have a shin injury and some runner injury right now, too:(. It’s no fun, I tell ya! Hopefully we’ll both be back out there, soon!

      Haha, oh yeah, I definitely had three pieces!! Actually, I think I ate two first, and then had this one and finally remembered to take a picture. I sometime forget to take pictures when I get really excited to eat my food!!:)

  2. mmmm I put cinnamon on everything, I love it. Especially on bananas and peanut butter.
    Glad to hear you’re feeling better about your injury! You’ll be up and running in no time. Pun intended.

  3. Sarah says:

    I felt the same way when I was injured this spring. It killed me see people running when I couldn’t. It made me so jealous.

  4. crackalicious banana bread? ummm yes please! I’m so game for a slice of that! bring some over! ❤ mwah! Happy Early WIAW! The party will be up soon!

    • Haha, well I was sad that I missed the party last week I had to make sure I made it this week!:) And that bread was seriously SO good. Next time I make some I’ll have to send you half so I don’t eat the whole loaf by myself again;).

  5. Emily says:

    Anything described as “crackalicious” is a must, obviously. Weekend project!

  6. Priyanka says:

    Toast, PB, banana and cinnamon comprise the best snack in my world. Love the banana bread.

  7. feerlessfood says:

    Don’t be jealous of that girl- like you said, she’s a “jogger”, but you? You’re a “runner” and a “triathlete”… never forget that : ) Soon enough you’ll be even faster than ever and kicking butt with everybody else!
    That protein muffin thing looks great too, I’m definitely going to try it. Looks kind of like my “oatmeal brick” lol.

    And I didn’t race this past weekend, but I have a half ironman this sunday in Florida!!

    • Aw, thanks, Chuck! You’re right…it’s just hard! I want to be out there…even if it’s just jogging, lol. I loved the protein muffin…very heavy and filling. I love a good filling breakfast.

      Woooo, good luck this weekend!! I’m excited for you. You’re going to do great!

  8. Love the use of chia seeds. Those things are strangely good!

    • This was my first package I bought a few months ago (it’s a big one, so they have lasted a long time), and I love them! I have been putting them in salads and parfaits and all kinds of stuff. So good!

  9. Anastasia says:

    I love snacking on pb & banana toast.. it’s delicious! I am totally trying out your banana bread recipe this weekend. It looks amazing!

  10. 321delish says:

    Your training and finishing the Kinetic Half has given me so much inspiration and motivation! Keep your head up 🙂 You will be back before you know it…and with that new bull bouey you will be ROCKING the swim with giant lats. haha. ps: your food pics are great this week!

    • You are so sweet! Thank you so much. Haha, I was pretty happy how the pictures turned out, too!:) The outdoor light really helps…now that we’ve stopped having RAIN every day!:)

  11. Yay for the breakfast bake!! All of this food looks awesome. I’m lucky if I have one meal that looks that good per day 🙂 Ah, and chocolate chip banana bread is an awesome idea…bananas and chocolate go so well together. Thanks for the recipe!!

    • Haha, well this was just my favorite food this week, so I definitely picked some of the better stuff:). But I also think a lot of the food you post looks pretty amazing!! I am always inspired to try your recipes…like the chocolate protein bake! I loved it, so thank YOU for the recipe:). Let me know if you make the banana bread, I want to know how it turns out. I love love loved it:).

  12. Jenny says:

    Omg that banana bake looks delicious!! Love the breakfast bake, it’s always fun to experiment with breakfast 🙂

  13. Ohh, your food looks good! And glad to see someone else uses chia seeds as much as I do 🙂 That pizza makes me want cheese, and I’m jealous of everyone’s asparagus! And I understand running envy–I had to stay off an ankle for a month or so, and couldn’t even go to the gym I’d be so envious of those with TWO working legs.

    • Oh yes, chia seeds are my most recent addiction:). Put them on everything! They add some nice texture to everything, and make things (like the protein bake) more filling:). I’m sorry you had to stay off your ankle, but I am glad I’m not the only one that has experienced some running envy.

  14. That bread looks AMAZING! Oh my. So much chocolate-y bits!

  15. No racing for me…although I am technically running a 10k this weekend, but it will NOT be at race pace. Too hot, and I need to concentrate on building my mileage for the big race this fall 🙂

    All your meals look so delicious! I get so bored of the same old…I might steal some of your ideas

  16. Oi, yeah I don’t do very well in the heat! I love to have races that are just for fun, though. They’re a good way to get a good training session in:). Have fun in your 10k!

    Oh yes, I get bored easily, and love trying new recipes (as if you couldn’t tell since I pretty much stole all my recipes this week from other bloggers;).

  17. Allison says:

    All of this food looks amazing! It puts what I have been eating to shame! I will have to try all of these recipes. 🙂
    I’m sorry you have running envy, but hopefully you’ll be back out there soon. And you have to bottle up that feeling to use on those days when you just don’t feel like getting out there!

    • Thanks, Allison! I was thinking that today–how I need to remember these days when I was itching to get out there when I go back to training and have my days where I don’t feel like doing anything:).

  18. Do you buy your tuna salad from a deli or make it? If the latter, recipe please! Check out my blog, Beautiful Busy Bee. Thanks!

    • Either I or my husband makes it! I usually try and make him make it because for some reason it always seems to taste better when he does it! I will have to think about what we put in it (kind of an off the top of the head recipe right now) and I will definitely send it to you:). Heading over to check out your blog now. Thanks for stopping by mine!:)

  19. Mmmmmm that asparagus looks amazing! I’ve never thought to put tomatoes and feta on it but I bet it’s awesome. Thanks for the new idea!

    I hope you’re able to get out and run soon ❤

  20. I wouldn’t have thought of it, either, until I saw the recipe from Emily. But it’s great! Definitely a way to spice up asparagus, which I love:). Thank you!

  21. Wow yum all of this looks fab!! I love tuna and I’ve been on a really big tuna kick lately. salad + tuna = yum!!
    and that breakfast bake. wow. The slices of banana…I can almost taste it!! I love fruit and cheese too. So many good combos.
    I get runners envy. I’ve only ever run two 5ks so I get jealous of people who can run longer than 3 miles. I know that I’ll have to work to get there, and I’m making progress, but I sometimes just get all or none thinking. Head up, you’re a real runner!

  22. Mmm! Toast with PB and bananas just isn’t the same without cinnamon! I swear I go through cinnamon faster than any other spice in my cabinet! Your dinner looks absolutely delicious! Pear and goat cheese pizza? I am seriously trying that!

    • Haha:). I do go through cinnamon pretty fast, too! Actually, it’s on my grocery list now. You definitely should try the pear and goat cheese pizza! It is one of my new all time favorites!:)

  23. DiningAndDishing says:

    Hopefully you won’t be feeling any jealousy when you see people running in today’s 100 degree heat! Cooking is always a fun alternative :). I just saw this recipe recently that I’ve been dying to try: http://ingoodtasteblog.net/in_good_taste/2011/05/smoked-mozzarella-pasta-salad.html

    • Haha, that is very true! I was just saying to someone yesterday that if it had to be any season this is probably a good one. My body does not like running in the heat!:) Oh wow, that recipe does look amazing. Now it’s on my list, too;). That looks a little like one that I made with chicken and asiago cheese that was delicious!:)

  24. Yay! Glad you like the cinnamon on the PB/banana toast – so good, right? I’m in a baking mood, so I may just try that banana bread this weekend. I hope you’re feeling better about the injury and that the biking/swimming is keeping you busy for now!

    • It was soooo good, I am not sure how I did not try it before! Thanks for the inspiration:). And I hope you do make it, I might just have to make another batch (seeing as I pretty much at the whole loaf by myself already. Oops:). Feeling somewhat better…it also helps that I am super busy with thesis stuff right now so that’s a bit of a distraction, too. Can’t wait for the thesis to be done and to be able to run again! Soon, hopefully soon:).

  25. patty says:

    EGADS!! All this food looks Sooooooo good! I am definitely going to try the peanut butter/toast/cinnamon & the pizza too. Heck, I’ll probably have to try them all. As for not being able to run…don’t worry, (or get jealous of those who can run) you’ll be on your feet running again really soon better than ever. Just look at this as a chance to try some new things. 😉

  26. Pingback: Gotein Review + Giveaway | You Don't Know Until You Tri!

Thank you for leaving me some comment love. Your comments make me a super-happy blogger:).

