WIAW – Grad Student Edition

Seeing as today is Thursday, I know I’m a little late to the party, but I really wanted to participate in WIAW this week:).

Because I’ve been so busy working on my thesis, I haven’t had a lot of time to cook. Although a lot of my meals have been a bunch of random food items grabbed out of the fridge and stuffed in my face, there have also been some good (but still quick) meals in there. You don’t always have to eat unhealthy when you’re short on time!

For breakfast this past week I’ve been eating a lot of Rokit Fuel Stud Muffin oatmeal.

A while ago I won a contest on Kate from NaturaStride‘s blog (yay!) and I was able to order some Rokit Fuel:). Naturastride’s mission is “to provide distance runners and endurance athletes with organic and natural alternatives  to performance nutrition products including  energy bars, drinks, snacks, and other wholesome foods.”

In other words, I could read and had heard of every ingredient in my Rokit Fuel. Love it! Lately I’ve been warming it up with some milk and throwing in a handful of blueberries. Perfect (and quick) way to start my day!

Lunches have been a lot of “whatever is in the fridge” salads. This one had spinach, yellow peppers, grape tomatoes, almond slivers, a packet of tuna, and some tabouile on top.

When I was in a hurry and didn’t have any good ingredients in the fridge, I grabbed a quick salad from the Safeway salad bar (and an iced coffee from Starbucks the size of my leg. Consuming coffees the size of your leg is a well known side effect of thesis crunch time. True story.).

This salad was AMAZING. It had some pasta and bean salad on top. And you better believe I go for the yellow and orange peppers–they weigh the same as the green peppers!

When I don’t have time to cook a real dinner, one of my favorite quick meals is a pizza made on a whole grain sandwich wrap.

Throw the wrap in the oven for five minutes while you chop up your toppings (this one had some red peppers, onions, and leftover turkey bacon), put a little spaghetti sauce on the wrap and top with mozzarella cheese and toppings:). Yum.

And for dessert I have been eating leftover Fourth of July dessert pizza:).

Since I was a bad blogger and forgot to give you the recipe before, I will post it now!

Fruit Dessert Pizza
Ingredients:
1 package of sugar cookie dough
1 8-oz package of cool whip
1 8-oz package of cream cheese
1/3 cup sugar
Fruit topping of your choice

Directions: Roll the sugar cookie dough out in the middle of a pizza pan or cookie tray (remember that it will rise and expand, so leave room on the edges).  Bake for 20 minutes or until golden brown. Let cool. While cookie dough is cooling, beat sugar and cream cheese together, then gently mix in cool whip. Spread on cool cookie dough and top with fruit of your choice. Enjoy!

About Erin @ untilyoutri

Runner, triathlete, food lover, and happy blogger!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to WIAW – Grad Student Edition

  1. You managed to eat SO well during a stressful time! WOW! Thinking of you and hoping your thesis is wrapping up!!

    • Aw, thanks Jess! I don’t always do very well with eating during stressful times (in fact, I did particularly bad during a lot of the other stressful times of school), but this time I was trying really hard! We also went through a period where we had no fresh produce in the house (still getting used to shopping for three people instead of two:), so lately I have been craving fresh food SOO much, so that helps!

  2. Sandy says:

    I miss Safeway’s salad bar so much :o(

  3. my trifle and your fruit pizza would be bff =) I added the link to the party for ya! ❤ love ya girl!

  4. patty says:

    Yummy cake! I’ll have to try that one for sure!

  5. lindsay says:

    where’s the ramen packets? haha, jk! I think I could live off fruit pizza though!

  6. Where do they have Safeway salad bars? That mix looks delicious!!! 🙂

  7. Lauren says:

    For someone who is under a lot of stress, you still ate healthy meals! (and yes, I’m counting the fruit pizza in that – I mean, it’s fruit!) I’m impressed 🙂

    And I always go for the red/yellow peppers in the salad bar too! Normally I’m too cheap to buy them at the store, but you said it – they weigh the same as the cheaper green ones.

    • Haha yeah I LOVE yellow/red/orange peppers, but I hate that they’re so expensive, so I always take advantage of them at the salad bar:). Thanks! I don’t always do well with eating healthy when I’m stressed, but these past few weeks I have done a little better than usual:).

  8. Anastasia says:

    Everything looks so good! It’s great that you ate so wonderfully during such a stressful time. I’m gonna try that flatbread pizza for sure.

    Good luck with your thesis!

  9. Yummm cake! And leg-sized coffee is a side effect of LIFE 😀 (Well, since I don’t have a thesis, I need an excuse, right?). Your from-the-fridge salad looks pretty darn delicious and planned! I want a fridge full of such good things. That takes grocery shopping, doesn’t it?

    • Haha, true about the coffee! I just use the thesis as an excuse, but I am totally loving the iced coffee lately:). And yeah, I went through a period of not doing enough grocery shopping and running out of produce, so now I am in produce overload to make up for it. Yum!

  10. Nice – glad you’re enjoying the Rokit Fuel. That stuff is the best.
    Your salads look awesome. I love “whatever’s in the fridge” salads – they’re the most creative! And they help to get rid of produce that’s about to go bad.
    And…. I need to make that fruit dessert pizza immediately.
    Have a great weekend – hopefully you can get some time away from the thesis!!

  11. Yes, I LOVE the Rokit Fuel!! So good and hearty and filling. Yum yum yum. Thank you! I hope you have a great weekend, too!

  12. Sweet Cheeks says:

    My mom used to make the fruit pizza recipe all the time for my sister and I, growing up. It was the best!

  13. Stephanie says:

    When I was in law school all i ate was salads. i feel for you! you are almost there!!!

Thank you for leaving me some comment love. Your comments make me a super-happy blogger:).

